You can protect your photos in two ways:
  1. Your original image is never available to viewers who see only a screen-sized image; the full-sized image is parked on our servers and only used when someone prints a photo. 
  2. When uploading your images, set up a watermark that adds the word PROOF in the middle of every photo. Even if someone manages to copy the photo from the screen, they will only capture a picture that contains the watermark, "Proof" in the middle of each photo. You can choose three sizes: larger sizes offer more protection but are distracting to the viewer.
The watermark PROOF only appears to guests.
While signed into your own account, you will NOT see the word PROOF on your photos. You are looking at your own photos, so there is no reason to obscure them with the watermark. To see the watermark displayed, sign out of your dotPhoto account, and view your account as a guest.

Guests will see this:


To add a Watermark
During the upload, set the watermark to Small, Medium or Large. You cannot add a watermark AFTER photos are uploaded unless you delete the photos and re-upload with the watermark feature engaged.


To change, add, or remove watermarks

Sorry, but you will need to upload the image again to change, add, or remove the watermarks because the presentations are created at the point of upload. Watermarks create two additional files: screen and thumbnail images with the word "proof" that are displayed only to your guests.


Want to know more?


Please email us at BetterFAQs@dotphoto.com